Newton Aycliffe Cricket Club celebrated their successful season with a packed house for their annual presentation night held at the Sports Club. In their first season in the NYSD league, the first team secured promotion to the 2nd division at their first attempt and reached the knock out stages of the NYSD 15/15 league cup. During the evening, a number of individual awards were presented to players from the under 18’s, 2nd and 1st teams as follows :-
Under 18’s  :- Danny Weldon won both the catching and bowling award, Tom Wickins won the batting award and Craig Robertson won the performance award. Both Danny Weldon and Tom Wickins shared the player of the year award.
2nd Team  :- John Wardle and James Skerrett shared the catching award, Ross Dixon won the bowling award, Ben Nicholson won the batting award and Danny Weldon was the player of the year.
1st Team  :- Michael Howe won the catches, Luke Telford won the bowling and Chris Palmer won the batting award. The Ian Clark Memorial Trophy for the player of the year was shared between Sean Morgan and Luke Telford.
There were some achievement awards for scoring centuries and they were presented to Sam Telford for his innings of 129 at home to Darlington RA and to Chris Palmer for scoring an unbeaten 106 away at Whitby. Finally the prestigeous Clubman of the year award was presented to 19 year old Joe Haines, predominantly for his work with the juniors and general all round assistance at the club.

NACC Individual winners 2013 web

Left to right: Danny Weldon (2nd Team Player of the Year), Sean Morgan and Luke Telford (joint 1st Team Players of the Year) and Joe Haines voted Clubman of the Year.