The Town Council had a fantastic response to the Firework Poster Competition this year, over 200 entries were received and the Mayor Cllr. Wendy Hillary and her consort, Cllr. Jed Hillary, had the difficult task of judging the posters on Bonfire night.

The presentation took place on Thursday 16th November at the Oak Leaf Sports Complex where the winners were awarded their prize and certificate, by the Leader of the Council, Cllr. Robert S. Fleming.

Thank you to everyone who entered from ‘home’, Stephenson Way Primary School and Nursery, St Francis School, Byerley Park School, Woodham Burn Out of School Club, Little Cubs Day Nursery, St Mary’s School and St. Oswald’s Pre-Schools.

Well done to all of you – don’t forget to enter next year!


1st Lennon Murphy, 2nd Finley Poole, 3rd Phoenix Harker

Year 1/Year 2

1st Will Hickman, 2nd Charlotte Griesse, 3rd Bella Vardy

Year 3/Year 4

1st Harry Hickman, 2nd Myd Reed-Stores, 3rd Macie Eve Porter

Year 5/Year 6

1st Teagan Scott, 2nd Grace Langhorn, 3rd Jessica Griesse